Tags

, , , , , ,

I am about to drop something heavy on you. Are you ready to read it? Are you?

I know very little about comic books.

As you wipe the tears from your eyes, I’ll explain. You see, when I was younger, I had no friends who were into comics. Sure, I love Batman, but that was because of the animated series. As for the other superheros, the Thors, Hulks, Iron Mans Men of the world, I knew not. You know how it goes as a kid, if you don’t have friends that like what you like, you don’t like it. Well, that’s how it was for popular kids like myself…

So, as I wait to see The Avengers tonight, I am completely oblivious to them as comic book characters. I don’t know what to expect. In my oh-so-old age (24), I realize that I had missed out on a lot as a child. There were so many times I could have put down the controller, turned off Twisted Metal III and crack the spine on the newest issue of Captain America or something. But, I didn’t and I regret it now.

Tonight, I make a pledge. I pledge to be as nerdy as I can be. I’ve already begun with Volume 1 of The Walking Dead, which is as interesting as I had hoped it would be. But, I pledge to do more. I’m going to try and start reading comic books like I should have years ago. I mean, how am I to write a blog on nerd stuff without comics?

God, if I had a time machine, I’d go back to the ’90s and kick my younger self in the balls while yelling “Hulk SMASH!” Cheesy, I know, but what do I know? I’ve never read the comics.

Goodnight and Happy Nerding

