Tags

, , , ,

I often sit and beat myself up for not giving this blog the attention it deserves. I ponder topics to write and people to bitch about.

“Yeah,” I say to myself,” I can rant about Rick Santorum or the ignorance of Newt Gingrich.”

But, why bother?

On any given day on the internet, you can find a million political pundits on either side, spitting and snarling in their half comprehensible English. Okay, I didn’t check my stats on that number, but I’m sure I’m not far off. Especially now, for it is election season after all.

Why bother?

Everybody is giving their opinions nowadays about politics and the like. These so-called “journalists” and “reporters” that fill my television screen every night often like to interject their own opinions into their stories, often being mistaken for researched fact. For every Vanguard Follower post about politics comes dozens, hundreds of posts about the same subject.

Why bother?

2008 was such an important year for me, politically that is. The Barack Obama campaign inspired me to start following politics. I changed my college major, I volunteered to work on the campaign and I began writing on the subject with excitement and passion. It was a turning point year.

Let’s fast forward to 2012 and a bitter Republican primary. Until now, we have seen three years of nonstop Republican bullshittery that has come to a head, or four heads, that have not stopped talking about what’s wrong with this nation since a certain black dude took to the White House. Things have become so heated it seems that you have to agree wholeheartedly with one side or the other to be seen as normal.

I guess I can just come on out and say it at this point. I’m hanging up my American flag shirt and walking away from political writing for the time being. I just can’t take it anymore. As I told Mr. Sad Otter during our meeting weeks ago, “If you study politics and don’t come out cynical by the end of it, you’re not doing it right.”

Right now, I am full of cynicism and rage. The passion is gone and replaced with a deep-seeded anger. I wake in the morning and start to rant about this and that in politics. I don’t want to feel like this anymore. It does no one any good, especially my family.

So, I plan on writing about something different. While watching last week’s finale of The Walking Dead and Comic Book Men, I had an epiphany. I want to write about “nerd stuff.” I want to write about what has always made me happy. I want to write about movies, books and music. I say to hell with this American drama known as politics.

I am not sure what this means for The Vanguard Follower site, though. I don’t know if I will just redesign this site into a new site, taking the Vanguard Follower name and making it something new. But, I am certain in my decision to step away from the political mess that has become so unbearable for me to write about anymore.

As I start to pull myself together and get this nerd train rolling, I will keep you updated. If you’re still interested in my writing about “nerd stuff,” then welcome aboard. If not, goodbye for now. It’s been a fun trip.

See you soon. Until next time…

